Angry Mamma

Writers Guild Award Winners Include Promising Young Woman, Borat, and Ted Lasso

We’re nearing closer and closer to the Academy Awards with each awards ceremony. We now come to the Writers Guild Awards which focuses specifically on one of the most important but sometimes forgotten elements of media: the screenwriters. Without their script, directors and actors would merely be winging it without a clear intent. Thus, the WGA honors their efforts.

There are a few surprises in that Borat Subsequent Moviefilm once more graced this awards ceremony. The inclusion may make one question how much writing was involved but there was clearly a narrative being pushed in the film of how Borat learned to connect with his daughter. Other winners include the revenge thriller of Promising Young Woman and the sports comedy of Ted Lasso.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Film Winners

Original Screenplay: Promising Young Woman, Written by Emerald Fennell; Focus Features

Adapted Screenplay: Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen & Anthony Hines & Dan Swimer & Peter Baynham & Erica Rivinoja & Dan Mazer & Jena Friedman & Lee Kern, Story by Sacha Baron Cohen & Anthony Hines & Dan Swimer & Nina Pedrad, Based on Characters Created by Sacha Baron Cohen; Amazon Studios

Documentary Screenplay: The Dissident, Written by Mark Monroe and Bryan Fogel; Briarcliff Entertainment

Television and New Media Winners

Drama Series: The Crown, Written by Peter MorganJonathan Wilson; Netflix

Comedy Series: Ted Lasso, Written by Jane BeckerLeann BowenBrett GoldsteinBrendan HuntJoe KellyBill Lawrence, Jamie LeeJason SudeikisPhoebe WalshBill Wrubel; Apple TV+

New Series: Ted Lasso, Written by Jane BeckerLeann BowenBrett GoldsteinBrendan HuntJoe KellyBill Lawrence, Jamie LeeJason SudeikisPhoebe WalshBill Wrubel; Apple TV+

Original Long Form: Mrs. America, Written by Tanya BarfieldJoshua GriffithSharon HoffmanBoo KillebrewMicah SchraftApril ShihDahvi Waller; FX Networks

Adapted Long Form: The Queen’s Gambit, Written by Scott FrankAllan Scott, Based on the novel by Walter Tevis; Netflix

Original & Adapted Short Form New Media: #FREERAYSHAWN, Written by Marc Maurino; Quibi

Animation: “Xerox of a Xerox” (BoJack Horseman), Written by Nick Adams; Netflix

Episodic Drama: “Fire Pink” (Ozark) Written by Miki Johnson; Netflix

Episodic Comedy: “The Great” (The Great), Written by Tony McNamara; Hulu

Comedy/Variety Talk Series: Desus & Mero, Writers: Daniel “Desus Nice” BakerClaire FriedmanZiwe FumudohJosh Gondelman, Robert KornhauserJoel “The Kid Mero” MartinezHeben NigatuMike PielocikJulia Young; Showtime

Comedy/Variety Specials: Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand: Building Back America Great Again Better 2020, Head Writers Ariel DumasJay Katsir, Writers: Delmonte BentMichael BrummRiver CleggAaron CohenStephen T. ColbertNicole ConlanPaul DinelloGlenn Eichler, Django Gold, Gabe GronliBarry JulienMichael Cruz KayneEliana KwartlerMatt LappinFelipe Torres MedinaOpus Moreschi, Asher PerlmanTom Purcell, Kate Sidley, Brian Stack, John ThibodeauxSteve Waltien; Showtime

Comedy/Variety Sketch Series: At Home with Amy Sedaris, Writers: Jeremy BeilerCole Escola, Peter Grosz, Amy Sedaris; truTV

Quiz and Audience Participation: Weakest Link, Head Writer: Ann Slichter, Writers: Chip DornellPaul GreenbergJoyce IkemiStuart Krasnow, Jon Macks, Mona Mira, Scott SaltzburgAaron SolomonChris Sturgeon, Grant Taylor; NBC

Daytime Drama: Days of Our Lives, Head Writer: Ron Carlivati, Writers: Lorraine BroderickJoanna CohenCarolyn Culliton, Richard CullitonRick DraughonDavid KreizmanRebecca McCarty, Ryan QuanDave RyanKatherine D. SchockElizabeth Snyder; NBC

Children’s Episodic, Long Form and Specials: “The Sleepover,” Written by Sarah Rothschild.; Netflix

Documentary Script – Current Events: “Agents of Chaos, Part I,” Written by Alex Gibney & Michael J. Palmer; HBO Documentary Films

Documentary Script – Other Than Current Events: “Opioids, Inc” (Frontline), Written by Tom Jennings; PBS

News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report: “Anger in America” (World News Tonight with David Muir), Written by Dave BlochDavid MuirKaren MooneyDavid Schoetz; ABC News

News Script – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary: “Juneteenth: A Celebration of Overcoming,” Written by Dave Bloch; ABC News

Digital News: “The Store That Called the Cops on George Floyd,” Written by Aymann Ismail,

Radio/Audio Winners

Radio/Audio News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report: “Changemakers: Leaders Who Made a Difference,” Written by Gail Lee; CBS News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary: “Against Those Thugs: Delores Tucker and Bill Bennett,” Written by Joel AndersonChristopher Johnson; Slate Podcasts

Promotional Winner

On-Air Promotion: “Get Out The Vote – Check Out Those Moves,” Written by Meghana Reddy and Angad Bhalla; Facebook, Instagram, YouTube