New Star Wars Series “The Mandalorian” Has Its Directors

Disney’s next venture with Star Wars, a live-action TV series headed by Jon Favreau is finally taking shape as more details have been revealed. We now know the series is being called “The Mandalorian” and will center around a lone gunfighter. We also know that the show will be airing exclusively on Disney’s new streaming service, Disney Play, when the service becomes active in 2019. And now we have news on the many directors that will be directing the first few episodes.

The eight-episode run will feature a host of notable talents behind the camera including Dave Filoni (“Star Wars Rebels”), Taika Waititi (“Thor: Ragnarok”), Deborah Chow (“The Man in the High Castle”) and Bryce Dallas Howard, known for her role in “Jurassic World.” View the full list of who is directing which episodes below:

  • 101 Dave Filoni
  • 102 Rick Famuyiwa
  • 103 Deborah Chow
  • 104 Bryce Dallas Howard
  • 105 Dave Filoni
  • 106 Rick Famuyiwa
  • 107 Deborah Chow
  • 108 Taika Waititi

Image: Hollywood Reporter

Worth noting is how Jon Favreau isn’t anywhere on that list, serving more as an executive producer on this show. While he’s most likely heading up more of Disney’s live-action feature retreads as he did with 2016’s “The Jungle Book,” the new crop of directors will be an interesting group considering the established Disney talent and some fresh faces to handle such a large franchise.

No release date has been scheduled yet as the show heads into production.